Let us pray, peace be with us:

"The Cross that has been the cause of our good and by which our mortal humanity was set free,
O Lord, be for us a strong fortress. And by this Cross, we shall overcome the wicked one and All his devices."

(Syro-Malabar Qurbana)

Visit essay.ws writing service




Six new bishops were appointed on Monday, 18/01/2010 for the Syro-Malabar Church. The announcement of the appointment of the new bishops was made public at the Vatican at 12.00 noon local time and at 4.30 pm IST at the Major Archiepiscopal Curia at Mount St Thomas, Kakkanad and at the respective Diocesan headquarters.


Thamarassery Diocese Chancellor and Secretary to the Bishop Dr Remegius Inchananiyil has been appointed the new Bishop of Thamarassery while Dr Pauly Kanookadan, Secretary of the Archepiscopal Commission for Liturgy , Clergy , Institutes for Consecrated Life and Executive Director of L.R.C, has been appointed the new Bishop of the Diocese of Irinjalakuda. This was after Bishops Mar Paul Chittilapally (Thamarassery) and Mar James Pazhyattil (Irinjalakuda) had tendered their resignations on attaining the age of 75. While Msgr Raphael Thattil, has been appointed as the Auxiliary Bishop of the Archdiocese of Trichur, Msgr Bosco Puthur has been appointed the Curial Bishop at Mount St Thomas, Kakkanad. Fr Thattil was serving as Protosyncellus of the Archdiocese of Trichur while Fr Puthur as the Rector, Mangalapuzha Seminary. 


Two new dioceses Mandya (Karnataka) and Ramanathapuram (Tamil Nadu) have also been erected by carving out the civil districts of Mandya, Hassan, Mysore and Chamaragnagar from the diocese of Mananthavady and the civil districts of Coimbatore, Erode, Karur and Thirueur from the diocese of Palghat respectively. Msgr George Njaralakkat who was serving as the Proto Syncellus of the Diocese of Bhadravathi becomes the first Bishop of the Diocese of Mandya while Dr Paul Alappatt, serving as the Trichur Minor Seminary Rector, will be the first Bishop of the newly erected Diocese of Ramanadhapuram. 


Besides these appointments there has also been an adjustment of territory between two dioceses. The civil district of Chickmagalur that belonged to the Mananthavady diocese has now been given to the Bhadravathi diocese.


The Nazrani extends its hearty congratulations to the new shepherds of the Syro-Malabar Church.